Tuesday, July 17, 2012

New Bob Dylan album 'Tempest': release date and track listing

After more than a month of rumors, Columbia Records announced today that Bob Dylan’s new studio album, "Tempest," will be released on September 11.

It features 10 new and original Dylan songs.

The release of "Tempest" coincides with the 50th Anniversary of the artist’s self-titled debut album, which was released by Columbia in 1962.

"Tempest" is available for pre-order now on iTunes and Amazon. The new album, produced by Jack Frost (aka Dylan), is the 35thth studio set from the artist who was the recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the country’s highest civilian honor.

"Tempest" track listing (via iTunes):

1. Duquesne Whistle
Possible story behind the song: "Duquesne is a little Pennsylvania steel town, twelve miles up the Monongahela River from Pittsburgh. For two years its 21,000 inhabitants watched the tires die in the blast furnaces one by one. Then for two more years the furnaces were cold. Duquesne called it Depression. One day last week, Duquesne whistles shrieked, Duquesne bells clanged. Followed by the city council and most of the leading businessmen. Mayor Crawford marched into the local works of Carnegie Steel Co., picked up a long iron blow pipe, thrust the red-hot tip through a hole in a furnace, igniting..."

2. Soon After Midnight
3. Narrow Way
4. Long and Wasted Years
5. Pay in Blood
6. Scarlet Town
7. Early Roman Kings
8. Tin Angel
9. Tempest
10. Roll on John

Bob Dylan new album, Medal of Freedom, top 10 greatest awards: commentary

Lucinda Williams dishes on kiss from Bob Dylan

No comments: